Faculty, Staff, & Researchers

Don Norman


Eliah Aronoff-Spencer

Infectious Diseases, Medical School

Ben Bergen

Cognitive Science

Benjamin Bratton

Visual Arts

Sheldon Brown

Visual Arts

Nate Delson

Mechanical Engineering

Steven Dow

Cognitive Science

Christine (Teenah) Eco

Administrative Project Coordinator

Colleen Emmenegger


Clint Evangelista

A/V Producer-Director (Contingent)

William Griswold

Computer Science Engineering

Philip Guo

Cognitive Science, Computer Science

Eric Hekler

Family and Preventative Medicine

Jim Hollan

Cognitive Science, Computer Science

Lilly Irani

Communications, Science Studies,
Critical Gender Studies

David Kirsh

Cognitive Science

Scott Klemmer

Cognitive Science, Computer Science

Albert Lin

Qualcomm Institute

Narges Mahyar

Design Lab Postdoctoral

Melanie McComsey

Design Lab Postdoctoral Researcher

Olga McConnell

Executive Assistant to Don Norman

Michael W. Meyer

Rady School of Management

Michèle Morris

Associate Director

Lars Müeller

Design Lab Postdoctoral Researcher

Morana Alac


Kevin Patrick

Family and Preventative Medicine

Rahul Ramath

Researcher (Contingent)

Laurel Riek

Computer Science Engineering

Taylor Scott

Cognitive Science

Ali Sarvghad

Postdoc Researcher, Computer Science

Ian Strelsky

Operations Manager and
Communications Lead

Nadir Weibel

Computer Science Engineering

Graduate Students

Maya Azarova (Anthropology)
Charles Hsien-Che Chen (Computer Science Engineering)
Andrew Dennis (Cognitive Science) Lab Assistant
Ian Drosos (Cognitive Science)
Celia Durkin (Cognitive Science)
Yuanyuan Feng (Visiting)
Amy Fox (Cognitive Science)
Ailie Fraser (Computer Science Engineering)
Akanksha Grover (Computer Science Engineering)
Dorothy Howard (Communication)
Janet Johnson (Communication)
Kandarp Khandwala (Computer Science Engineering)
Tushar Koul (Computer Science Engineering)
Sean Kross (Cognitive Science)
Adam Mekrut (Cognitive Science)
Alok Mysore (Computer Science Engineering)
Tricia Ngoon(Cognitive Science)
Vineet Pandey (Computer Science Engineering)
Steven Rick (Computer Science Engineering)
Danilo Gasques Rodrigues (Computer Science Engineering)
Adam Rule (Cognitive Science)
Keshav Sharma (Computer Science Engineering)
Stephanie Sherman (Visual Arts)
Akshita Sivakumar (Communication)
Jonathan Walton (Communication)
Ariel Weingarten (Computer Science Engineering)
Tone Xu (Cognitive Science)

Undergraduate Students

Shaheryar Ajmal (Computer Science Engineering)
Alia Awni (Computer Science Engineering)
Daniel Baron (Bioinformatics)
Evan Barosay (Cognitive Science)
Elmer Barrera (Cognitive Science)
Justine Bui (Environmental Systems- Student Operations Assistant)
Luis Calona (Computer Science Engineering)
Kai-yu Chang (Cognitive Science)
Ruijia Chen (Cognitive Science)
Shih-Chuan Ku (Computer Science Engineering)
Hoaithi Dang (Math/CS)
Andrew Du (Cognitive Science)
Joanne Euno Cho (Cognitive Science)
Isaac Fehr (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Lisa Grega (Cognitive Science)
Esan (Nathan) Hassansadeh (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Quincy Huang (Computer Science Engineering)
Marisa Kanemoto (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Howyan Leung (Cognitive Science)
Ziyang (Liby) Li
Aileen Liang (International Studies Business)
Echo Ma (Cognitive Science)
Lauren Mao-Luen Liu (Computer Science)
Kelsey Minghan Guo (Computer Science Engineering)
Sanika Moharana
Katya Noble (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Erika Nunotani (Economics)
Annika Olives (Cognitive Science- Student Operations Assistant)
Se One Park (Cognitive Science)
Alejandro Panduro Sandoval (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Steven Phung (International Studies Business- AV/Communications)
Josh Pitta (Anthropology- AV/Communications)
Wanhui Qiao (Computer Science)
Allison Reiss (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Eric Olan Richards (Cognitive Science)
Evan Schmitz (Cognitive Science)
Aditya Srinivasan (Computer Science Engineering)
Orr Toledano (Computer Science Engineering)
Justin Tran (Computer Science Engineering)
Tiffany Trinh (Cognitive Science/HCI)
Chen Yang (Computer Science Engineering)
Kaung Yang (Computer Science Engineering)
Nancy Zhang (Cognitive Science)


Andrea Alessandrini, Visiting Scholar, University of Dundee (July 2016 – September 2016 )
Andrea Anderson, Designer in Residence, Vice President – Design Thinking at SAP, (Fall Quarter 2016)
Jan Borchers, Visiting Scholar, RWTH Aachen University (October 2016 – March 2017)
Paul Hekkert, Visiting Scholar, Delft University of Technology (February 2017)
Eric von Hippel, Visiting scholar, MIT Sloan School of Management (January 2018)
Dan Russell, Visiting Scholar, Google (May 2015, May 2016, May 2017)
Pieter Jan Stappers, Visiting Scholar, Delft University of Technology (July 2015)
Norbert Streitz, Visiting Scholar, Smart Future Initiative (August 2015)
Sheng-Feng Qin, Visiting Scholar, Northumbria School of Design (November 2016 – March 2017)
Aurelien Tabard, Visiting Scholar, Université Claude Bernard Lyon (July 2017)
Peggy Zwolinski, Visiting Scholar, Grenoble INP – Génie Industriel (December 2017 – April 2018)


Lauren Adiova (Graduate Student Copywriter/Editor)
Gabriel Amoako 
Sandra Amon (Operations Assistant)
Elmer Barerra (Undergraduate Researcher)
Diana Benavidez (Undergraduate Researcher)
Julia Cambre (Applications Programmer)
Sara Carver (Administrative Assistant/Events Coordinator)
Wesley Chan (Staff Research Assistant)
Rachel Chen (Undergraduate Researcher)
Bonnie Chinh (Undergraduate Researcher)
Grant Chinn (Undergraduate Researcher)
Yujin Cho
Aliyah Clayton (Undergraduate Researcher)
Purvi Desai (Graduate Student)
Cody Doan (Undergraduate Researcher)
Tori Duong (Undergraduate Researcher)
Allison A. Endo (Visiting)
Seth Ferris (Graduate Student)
Lynn Hao (Student Assistant)
Catherine Hicks (Design Lab Fellow, Postdoc Researcher)
Brandon Hong
Nida Hussain (Graduate Student)
Ed Hutchins (Cognitive Science – Retired)
Nanna Inie (Visiting Graduate Student)
Michael James
Shawn Hyeonsu Kang
Daniel Kaulen (Researcher)
Jonas Kemper (Researcher)
Yasmine Kotturi (Graduate Student)
Markus Krause
Jun Liu
Derek Lomas (Design Lab Fellow, Postdoc Researcher)
Aliff Macapinlac
David Mao
Brian McInnis (Visiting Graduate Student)
Michelle Ng
Laura Pina (Graduate Student)
Vanessa Pool (Program Manager)
Adam Powers (Outreach & Research Assistant)
Neel Pujar (Undergraduate Research Assistant)
Shengfeng Qin (Visiting Scholar)
Malte Risto (Design Lab Fellow, Postdoc Researcher)
Joel Rosenthal (Undergraduate Researcher)
Joseph Ruanto-Ramirez (Interim Project Manager)
Beverly Sastri (Interim Executive Assistant)
Gabriel Schneider (Undergraduate Researcher)
Brian Soe
Monika Streuer (Visiting Grad)
Aurelien Tabard (Visiting Scholar)
Carolyn Thio
William (Jasper) Travers (Undergraduate Research Assistant)
Reggie Wu
Sijia Xiao
Seth Ferris (Graduate Student)

Join Us

Are you a Design practitioner, student, or industry professional interested in getting involved with the Design Lab?

Contact us or sign-up to receive our Newsletter, Mail List, and Design@Large Announcements.




Contact Us